"Better Conversations, Better Cities"
Home > Education > We are the champions!

For the third year in a row, Lexington District One students returned home from the “We the People” state competition as champions.

Competing on the district’s Center for Law and Global Policy Development team, state champions include Lexington High’s Macy T. Cope; River Bluff High’s Grant M. Bradford, Benjamin P. Brandes, Kristyna R. Brown, Colby D. Caviness, Madison A. Corley, Shaylor G. Crawford, Sean H. Dedmon, Chloe R. Farhat, Riley D. Lankes, Jacob M. Marsh, John C. McKay, Gabriela D. Ortiz Soto, Nathanial A. Rizer, Luke P. Shealy, Aditya Singh, Camille R. Sullivan, Austin P. Tindal, Kamryn M. Ufford and Aydan M. Wunderlich; and White Knoll High’s Izzy L. Dail, Chevonne Hasell, Hunter L. Hughes, Jamon M. Major and Nitzia R. Orozco.

Sponsored by a service arm of the South Carolina Bar, its Law Related Education division, “We the People” allows students to gain a deeper understanding of American government and how constitutional democracy affects their daily lives.

Students compete by testifying before a panel of judges, showcasing their knowledge, and defending their position on relevant historical and contemporary issues.

Like What You See?



You may also like
Lexington principal named finalist for national Principal of the Year
Generation Global Club raises money for trafficking victims
Students turn donated truck into rolling work of art
Sidewalk Art Show earns Gilbert Middle first place