"Better Conversations, Better Cities"
Home > Politics > Dino Teppara Elected Chairman of First Tuesday Republican Club of the Midlands

Dino Teppara Elected Chairman of First Tuesday Republican Club of the Midlands

“I am honored to serve in this position and I am thankful to all the members of First Tuesday who placed their confidence in me,” said Teppara. “I look forward to working with our members to make this club even stronger. We are going through a growth phase and this club will serve as a vital networking organization for like-minded conservatives and business men and women throughout the Midlands,” said Teppara.

“As a co-founder of the First Tuesday Republican Club more than 40 years ago, I am grateful that Dino Teppara, my former Chief of Staff, was unanimously elected chairman,” said U.S. Representative Joe Wilson (R-SC-02).

“I look forward to seeing how Dino will grow the First Tuesday Club and establish a strong foundation for the 2018 election. This is an exciting time for the Republican Party, and I encourage all Republicans to get involved in their state and local parties.

“The intent of co-founders George Shissias and Warner Wells of Richland County, and me, of Lexington, was to encourage Republican participation on ‘both sides of the river,’ with an organization of minimal cost for maximum participation,” said Wilson.

“I am very excited to see Dino Teppara elected as Chairman of First Tuesday,” said Matt Moore, Chairman of the South Carolina Republican Party. “As a naturalized U.S. citizen and Naval Officer, he serves as an example of the valuable contributions made by legal immigrants to American society. Our Party is open to people of all faiths and backgrounds, and we look forward to growing the conservative movement and reaching out to every community in South Carolina as we lead our state forward for prosperity and opportunities for all,” said Moore.

The new board of directors for First Tuesday are:

Dino Teppara – Chairman (Lexington County)

Benjamin Dunn – Vice Chairman (Richland County)

Glenn Miller – Treasurer (Lexington County)

Grace Rentiers – Secretary (Richland County)

Jim Corbett – Past Chairman (Richland County)

Richland County Directors:

Mrs. Lou Nolan

Clarence Davis

Lexington County Directors

Ross Snell

John Butcher

Beth Klapman

Wilma Hoffmann Storey

L-R: Jim Corbett; Dino Teppara; Glenn Miller; Beth Klapman; Grace Rentiers; Wilma Hoffmann Storey; Ross Snell; and Benjamin Dunn.

Teppara became the first Indian American to ever serve as chief of staff and counsel to a Republican member of Congress when he served on staff to Representative Joe Wilson. He was a law clerk to a well-respected judge on the South Carolina Court of Appeals and served in a cabinet agency in the administration of Governor Nikki R. Haley. He is a special education attorney at the South Carolina Department of Education. Teppara serves as a public affairs officer in the United States Navy Reserve, assigned to a unit in Norfolk, Va.

Like What You See?