"More than a publication"
Home > Arts & History > Columbia Museum of Art Celebrates Educators

Columbia Museum of Art Celebrates Educators

Columbia Museum of Art Celebrates Educators at Its Annual Membership Meeting with Mac Arthur Goodwin and Docent of the Year Awards
New Board Members elected for 2015-2016 Year

Columbia, S.C. – On Thursday, May 21, 2015, the Columbia Museum of Art highlighted its commitment to education and learning by presenting two awards for outstanding educational service.

The Mac Arthur Goodwin Award for excellence in education in the arts was given to Brock Allen, who teaches at Bradley Elementary School in Columbia, S.C. This is Allen’s first year as an art educator in South Carolina. Allen has made an outstanding contribution to the inspiration of students through his dedicated service. Goodwin is an art educator, consultant for the SC Department of Education, and past member of the CMA’s board of visitors.

The Docent Corps is a valuable and essential group of individuals who volunteer their time to fulfill the museum’s educational mission and make the museum an engaging and accessible cultural hub of the Midlands. Through continuing education and volunteer service to the CMA, docents provide the vital educational link with children and adults that enrich the museum experience and instill and support a lifelong appreciation of art. The Docent of the Year Award was given to Hillary Chesney for her dedication and service to the museum since 2009. This award is voted on by the CMA Docent Corps.

The CMA is a regional leader in arts education, inspiring future generations of children and adults alike. The museum provides rich and meaningful experiences in our community who learn through art about history, culture, and the world, and one-third of the programs are offered for free.

New board members were announced at the CMA’s 64th meeting. Board president Claude M. Walker, Jr. officiated the meeting, which included the announcement of board officers for 2015-2016.

Claude M. Walker, Jr. serves as the board president with R. Scott McClelland , vice president and treasurer; Cathy Love, secretary; and Karen Brosius as executive director.

The following trustees were elected to serve for the Class of 2018: Suzan D. Boyd, Thomas E. Collins, Kathleen Finlay, Kevin Glass, D. Delores Logan, Carolyn Kressler-Greenberg, R. Scott McClelland, Ann B. Oliver, Stephen F. Serbin, and Isvara Wilson. Trustees for the Class of 2017 serving unexpired terms are Robert H. Kennedy, Jr., and Brandolyn Thomas Pinkston.

Other awards were presented for outstanding service to the CMA.

The President’s Award was presented to Luther J. Battiste, III for his leadership, energy, and commitment to the museum as the immediate past board of trustees president and outstanding volunteer.

The Director’s Award for employee of the year was presented to Doctor Isaiah, Jr. for his dedicated service to the CMA and the museum’s protective services. Anniversary service recognition went to Joyce Miller, who celebrated 10 years working at the CMA, and Jessica Derr, five years.

The Chairman’s Award was presented to Thomas E. Collins for his contributions to the CMA and for advancing the cause of the arts in the Midlands. Tom has championed the role of the CMA and the arts in economic development and actively served in leadership roles on museum committees.

The Vendor Service Award was given to ACS Sound & Lighting for their special care and sensitivity in sound and lighting during events, rentals, fundraisers, and programs at the CMA.

The meeting concluded with the recognition of retiring board membersLisa Arnold, Sidney Heyward Rex, Joel A. Smith, III, Suzanne R. Thorpe, and Brenda T. Wheeler.

Like What You See?