"More than a publication"
Home > Education > Celebrating 30th Year, Central Carolina Community Foundation Awards $158,020 in Scholarships to South Carolina Students

Celebrating 30th Year, Central Carolina Community Foundation Awards $158,020 in Scholarships to South Carolina Students

Central Carolina Community Foundation, now celebrating its 30th Anniversary, has awarded 70 scholarships totaling $158,020 to some of South Carolina’s best and brightest students.

The Community Foundation manages 41 scholarship funds that provide education opportunities for students across the Midlands.

Each scholarship has its own specific purpose and eligibility criteria according to the recommendations of the donor. Many of the funds have been established as testaments to the donor¹s passion for education and their commitment to a particular geographic area or company.

For example, the William S. and Elizabeth B. Heath Scholarship began in 1995 to provide tuition support to children of employees of Carolina Coca-Cola Bottling Company based in Sumter, SC. The fund also provides scholarships to outstanding seniors in Sumter County when no dependents of the bottling company apply. During the past 16 years, the William S. and Elizabeth B. Heath Scholarship has funded 171 scholarships totaling close to $805,000.

“Our scholarship funds are just one of the many ways that donors in our community work with the Foundation to make a difference in the Midlands,” said Foundation President and CEO JoAnn Turnquist. “Through the generosity of our fundholders, 70 students now have the opportunity to achieve their academic goals without the financial burden that often accompanies a college education. We congratulate each of our scholarship recipients and wish them well as they continue to learn and grow.”


Central Carolina Community Foundation will begin accepting applications for the 2015-2016 school year in January 2015. More information about applying for scholarships or establishing a scholarship fund at the Foundation, please visit www.yourfoundation.org or call 803.254.5601.

The 2014 recipients of each fund, their hometown, and schools they plan to attend are as follows:

A.C. Flora First Five Years Foundation

Matthew Hurtt, Columbia (Winthrop University)

Mary King, Columbia (University of Georgia)

Jenna Poole, Columbia (University of South Carolina)

Kathryn Spence, Columbia (Lander University)

Jasmine Williamson, Hopkins (Winthrop University)


Handel-Carter Assistance Fund

Fretoria Addison, Columbia (Midlands Technical College)

Consuela Yisrael, Columbia (Midlands Technical College)


Zack and Rachel Clarkson Scholarship

Brandon Stroman, Hopkins (Walters State Community College)

Tamarik Taylor, Eastover (South Carolina State University)


Daughters of the Holy Cross – Sara Hempley Scholarship

Michele Hindermyer-Heller, Irmo (Midlands Technical College)


First Choice Members Scholarship

Cheryl Robertis, Summerville (Charleston Southern University)


Mae and Wilbur Fulmer Scholarship

Jennifer Hill, Chapin (Clemson University)


Rhittie Gettone Leading By Example Scholarship

Lafontant Williamson, Columbia (Midlands Technical College)


Gilbert Ruritan Scholarship

Raymond Padgett, Batesburg (College of Charleston)

Jenna Williams, Gilbert (University of South Carolina)


William S. and Elizabeth B. Heath Scholarship

Katelyn Delbocca, Sumter (University of South Carolina)

Walker Fickling, Sumter (University of South Carolina)

Christopher Galloway, Sumter (University of South Carolina)

Ja¹Keon Green, Sumter (Coastal Carolina University)

Erin Owens, Hemingway (Coastal Carolina University)

Melody Rivers, Wedgefield (Clafin University)


Dr. Robert Howard/WHS Scholarship Fund

Victoria Small, Orangeburg (Clafin University)


Bobby J. Jacobs Jr. Turn Your Life Around Award

LeDetra Jackson, Columbia (Coker College)


Estelle Jones Memorial Scholarship

Ayanna Suber, Columbia (Coastal Carolina University)


Estelle Jones Non-Traditional Students Scholarship

Almando Brown, Hopkins (Limestone College)


LinkScholars Scholarship Program

Niya Anderson, Hopkins (Clafin University)

Jazmine Anderson, Columbia (Lander University)

Tywan Bookert, Columbia (Lander University)

Thomas Cauthen, Rembert (University of South Carolina)

Curtdrieka Kirksey, Columbia (Lander University)

Franshawn Mack, Hopkins (South Carolina State University)


Terry A. McCoy Leadership Scholarship

Jonathan Smith, Columbia (Furman University)


Dr. William A. McDow Scholarship

Danlet Mayson, Heath Springs (University of South Carolina-Lancaster)


Jacqueline M. Miller Scholarship

Brandi Bell, Ridgeway (College of Charleston)

Alexa Karoly, Winnsboro (Columbia College)

Michaela Massey, Richburg (York Technical College)


Rogers & Meredith Scholarship Fund

Jazmine Anderson, Columbia (Lander University)

Tywan Bookert, Columbia (Lander University)

Jonathan Bowles, Lexington (Clemson University)

Hakim Frazier-Harris, Columbia (South Carolina State University)

Tyrone Guinyard, Columbia (Greenville Technical College)

Curtdrieka Kirksey, Columbia (Lander University)

Rachel Smith, Columbia (North Greenville University)

Louise Speights, Columbia (Johnson C. Smith University)

6 Students Attending Glenforest School


Master Sergeant Worley E. Phipps Scholarship

Maddison Aaron, Pelion (The Citadel)

Alanah Frye, Lexington (Clemson University)

Zachary Kanipe, Lexington (Newberry College)


Bobbi Rossi Memorial Scholarship ­ USC College of Nursing

Amanda Clark, Chapin (University of South Carolina)


Louetta Slice Scholarship

Amanda Clark, Chapin (University of South Carolina)


SC Arms Collectors Association

Regan Carwile, Belton (Clemson University)

Kristen Davis, Lexington (University of South Carolina)

Madison Dominick, Pomaria (Clemson University)

Eva Jenkinson, Lexington (Lander University)

Tanner Swain, Orangeburg (The Citadel)

William Threlkeld, Williamston (University of South Carolina)


Smart Matters Scholarship

Cora Webb, Columbia (College of Charleston)


Milford H. Wessinger Scholarship

Hunter Booth, Chapin (Clemson University)

Kristen Davis, Lexington (University of South Carolina)

Megan Middleton, Lexington (Anderson University)

Hunter Threlkeld, West Columbia (Anderson University)


Woodlands¹ Families Scholarship

Markayla Busby, Bamberg (Winthrop University)

Kimberly Glover, Orangeburg (Hampton University)



About Central Carolina Community Foundation

Central Carolina Community Foundation is a nonprofit organization serving 11 counties in the Midlands by distributing grants and scholarships and linking the resources of donors, nonprofits and area leaders to communities in need. For more information about the Foundation, visit their website at www.yourfoundation.orgor call 803.254.5601.

Save the date for the 5th Annual Best of Philanthropy Awards, November 13, 2014.


Facebook: www.facebook.com/CentralCarolinaCommunityFoundation

Twitter: www.twitter.com/CCCFtweets

Instagram: www.instagram.com/cccfpics


Press contact:

Tracie Broom, Flock and Rally, 415-235-5718tracie@flockandrally.com

Chloe Rodgers, Flock and Rally, 843-230-1611chloe@flockandrally.com

Like What You See?