"Better Conversations, Better Cities"
Home > News & Updates > AAF of the Midlands Honors Midlands Advertising Talent at 2017 American Advertising Awards

AAF of the Midlands Honors Midlands Advertising Talent at 2017 American Advertising Awards

The American Advertising Federation of the Midlands (AAF of the Midlands) hosted its annual American Advertising Awards gala, popularly known as the ADDYs, on Saturday, February 18 at Music Farm in Columbia. The theme of this year’s ADDY gala was ADDY Palooza, and the event boasted a 32% increase in attendance over the previous year’s gala with more than 175 people attending. More than 62 awards recognizing exceptional work in advertising were presented to advertising professionals and students in the Midlands.

AAF of the Midlands holds the yearly competition as part of the American Advertising Federation’s American Advertising Awards, the largest advertising competition in the world. As a chapter of the national AAF organization, AAF of the Midlands’ American Advertising Award winners will move on to compete at the district level and then in the national competition. Each year, three independent judges representing different aspects of advertising and media fields are brought from out of market (from cities outside of South Carolina, North Carolina and Virginia) to review and judge the submitted work using a numeric grading scale. Based on their rankings, the top scoring entries are tallied as earning Gold or Silver award status. Entries earning Gold status are automatically forwarded to judging at the regional level, and entries earning Silver Awards can also be forwarded if their respective creators indicate so and pay a nominal forwarding fee. From there the local entries are judged first regionally and then the best of that competition will go on to be judged nationally, allowing the opportunity for local work to merit national standing.

AAF of the Midlands President, Skot Garrick noted an increase in entry submissions from the market’s advertising, public relations, media, marketing and related creative industry, as approximately 230 submissions were entered, and said that the caliber of local work entered into the biggest advertising competition in the world continues to reflect a pinnacle of local industry excellence.

“Our judges this year represented a range of age, industry acumen, experience and perspective, which brought our local creative output under the lens of exacting critical review,” said President Garrick. “Throughout the entire long day of scrutiny, the three judges consistently commented on and praised our market’s local efforts, indicating our Midlands talent can hold their own against the creative output anywhere. We will be proud to advance our local winners to the regional competition next month, and I believe the Columbia market will be regarded in contention for many regional and national awards.”

AAF of the Midlands recognized winners in a myriad of categories and honored overall winners for print, interactive and broadcast media:

Best of Broadcast – Chernoff Newman, Dayton Power & Light, Behind the Scenes Campaign

Best of Print – Alan Pearsall Art & Design, Tres Gringos Barbudos, for Thomas Creek Brewery Campaign

Best of Interactive – Chernoff Newman Fresh on the Menu campaign, for The South Carolina Department of Agriculture

People’s Choice Award – Chernoff Newman, Main Street District Campaign

The Best of Show -Chernoff Newman, Fresh on the Menu: Summer Campaign for The South Carolina Department of Agriculture.

The Student Best of Show –Angel Rishebarger, Anthony Brickner, Stephanie Woronko, Ivy McLeary, Madison Leggett, Caitlyn Jennings, and Claire Kucerpa, Lighthouse for Life rebranding campaign for the University of South Carolina.

The full list of this year’s American Advertising Award winners can be seen here: http://aafmidlands.com/awards/2017-american-advertising-award-winners/

Before the award presentation began, AAF of the Midlands was pleased to honor Andrew C. Evans with the American Advertising Federation’s highest honor, the Silver Medal Award. The AAF’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize members who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Andrew Evans, who has dedicated more than a decade to furthering the mission and goals of the American Advertising Federation at the local, regional and national level, was presented the Silver Medal Award onstage by Chernoff Newman President and COO David Campbell, who was the 2015 recipient of the Silver Medal Award.

In addition, the 2016 AAF of the Midlands Member of the Year Award was presented to Tyler Matthews for his pro-bono work in creating the ADDY Palooza video. The Member of the Year Award recognizes an AAF of the Midlands’ member that exhibits the greatest commitment to the industry and the organization through committee involvement, time and resources invested, and their positive impact on the organization. Tyler’s video can be seen at https://www.addypalooza.com/.

Like What You See?